Doctoral Program in Cognitive Science

Doctoral Program in Cognitive Science

The PhD Program in Cognitive Science is a program jointly organized by the Faculties of Sciences, Letters, Medicine, and Psychology.

Cognitive science is the interdisciplinary study of cognition — behaviour, mind and brain — through the combination of the concepts, methods and insights from large parts of Psychology, Neuroscience, Evolutionary Biology, Linguistics, Philosophy, Anthropology and other social sciences, and the application of formal methods from Computer Science, Mathematics and Physics.

Doctoral Program in Integrative Neurosciences

Doctoral Program in Integrative Neuroscience

The University of Lisbon is the leading institution in Neurosciences in Portugal, as assessed either by number of publications or quotations in international Journals.

The Lisbon University Doctoral Program in Integrative Neuroscience (NeurULisboa) congregates the resources of renowned academic and research institutions of the University of Lisbon, to provide advanced training in Neuroscience.

Doctoral Program in Robotics, Brain and Cognition

Doctoral Program in Robotics, Brain and Cognition

The PhD Program in Cognitive Science is a program jointly organized by Instituto Superior Técnico, Universidade de Coimbra, École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL), LARSyS, Institute for Systems and Robotics – Coimbra, INESC-ID and the Champalimaud Foundation.

RBCog-PhD focuses on the multidisciplinary use of robotics and neuroimaging, with the twin goals:

  • Advancing our understanding of brain function in humans
  • Developing new robotic systems based on biologically plausible principles

2018/2019 Curricular Units with interdisciplinary importance

<

tr>

Curricular Units ECTS Semester Institution Responsible Contact
Cell and Molecular Neurobiology 5 13/09 – 12/10 FMUL / IMM Ana M. Sebastião anaseb@fm.ul.pt;
Neuronal degeneration and Regeneration 5 15/10 –31/10 FMUL / IMM Ana M. Sebastião anaseb@fm.ul.pt;
Neuronal Circuits 5 6/11 – 23/11 FMUL / IMM Ana M. Sebastião anaseb@fm.ul.pt;
Computational Neuroscience 2 26/11 – 30/11 FMUL / IMM Tiago Maia tiago.v.maia@gmail.com;
Neuroethics 1 03/12 – 14/12 FMUL / IMM J. Alexandre Ribeiro jaribeiro@fm.ul.pt;
Neuroanatomy and Neuroimaging 3 2/1 – 18/1 FMUL / IMM A. Gonçalves Ferreira ajgonfer@fm.ul.pt;
Autonomic Function 3 21/1 – 1/2 FMUL / IMM Isabel Rocha isabelrocha0@gmail.com;
Neuropathogy 3 4/2 – 15/2 FMUL / IMM José Pimentel josepimentel@fm.ul.pt;
Clinical Neurophysiology 5 18/2 – 8/3 FMUL / IMM Mamede de Carvalho mamedealves@fm.ul.pt;
Biostatistics 4 11/3 – 29/3 FMUL / IMM Ruy Ribeiro ruyribeiro@fm.ul.pt;
Research in Clinical Neurosciences 3 1/4 – 12/4 FMUL / IMM Patrícia Canhão pcanhao@fm.ul.pt;
Therapeutic Research in Neurosciences 3 22/4 – 3/5 FMUL / IMM Joaquim Ferreira joaquimjferreira@gmail.com;
Cognitive Functions 5 6/5 – 24/5 FMUL / IMM Isabel Pavão Martins / Manuela Guerreiro ipavaomartins@gmail.com;
Cognitive Deterioration in ageing and dementia 1 27/5 – 31/5 FMUL / IMM Alexandre de Mendonça mendonca@fm.ul.pt;
Farmacologia Geral 6 1º Semester FMUL / IMM Ana M. Sebastião anaseb@fm.ul.pt;
Tópicos Avançados de Neurociência 6 1º Semester FMUL / IMM Ana M. Sebastião anaseb@fm.ul.pt;
Módulo avançado de Neurociências Integradas 6 2º Semester FMUL / IMM Ana M. Sebastião anaseb@fm.ul.pt;
Biologia Computacional 6 1º Semester IST Ana Teresa Freitas ana.freitas@tecnico.ulisboa.pt;
Engenharia de Células Estaminais 6 January – March IST Joaquim Sampaio Cabral joaquim.cabral@ist.utl.pt;
Nanobiotecnologia 6 1º Semester IST João Pedro Conde joao.conde@tecnico.ulisboa.pt;
Neurociências e Neuroimagiologia (*) 6 1º Semester IST Patrícia Figueiredo patricia.figueiredo@tecnico.ulisboa.pt;
Neuroengenharia 6 1º Semester IST Patrícia Figueiredo patricia.figueiredo@tecnico.ulisboa.pt;
NeuroImagiologia 6 1º Semester IST Patrícia Figueiredo patricia.figueiredo@tecnico.ulisboa.pt;
Problemas Inversos em Processamento de Sinal e de Imagem 6 1º Semester IST José Bioucas Dias bioucas@lx.it.pt;
Redes Complexas 6 1º semestre IST Francisco Santos franciscocsantos@tecnico.ulisboa.pt;
Aprendizagem Estatística 6 2º Semester IST Mário Figueiredo mario.figueiredo@tecnico.ulisboa.pt;
Comunicação Homem/Máquina 4,5 2º Semester IST Agostinho Rosa agostinho.rosa@tecnico.ulisboa.pt;
Imagiologia Médica 6 2º Semester IST Patrícia Figueiredo patricia.figueiredo@tecnico.ulisboa.pt;
Modelação e Classificação de Sinais Biomédicos 6 2º Semester IST Ana Fred afred@lx.it.pt;
Processamento da Fala 6 2º Semester IST Isabel Trancoso isabel.trancoso@inesc-id.pt;
Processamento de Sinais Médicos e Biológicos 6 2º Semester IST João Sanches jmrs@tecnico.ulisboa.pt;
Sensores, Instrumentação e Medidas em Sistemas Biológicos 6 2º Semester IST Raúl Martins rcmartins@tecnico.ulisboa.pt;
Sistemas de Biometria 6 2º Semester IST Ana Fred afred@lx.it.pt;
Cognição Social 6 1º Semester FPUL Leonel Garcia-Marques garcia_marques@sapo.pt;
Emoções 6 1º Semester FPUL Ana Pinheiro appinheiro@psicologia.ulisboa.pt;
Métodos de Investigação em NeuroImagem (*) 6 1º Semester FPUL Ana Luísa Raposo alraposo@psicologia.ulisboa.pt;
Laboratório de Processos Cognitivos (*) 6 1º Semester FPUL Tânia Fernandes taniapgfernandes@gmail.com;
Neurociências Cognitivas da Leitura 6 1º Semester FPUL Tânia Fernandes taniapgfernandes@gmail.com;
Estatística Aplicada à Psicologia 6 2º Semester FPUL Ana Luísa Raposo alraposo@psicologia.ulisboa.pt;
Julgamento e Decisão na Incerteza 6 2º Semester FPUL Mário Augusto Boto Ferreira mferreira@psicologia.ulisboa.pt;
Seminário de Projecto 6 2º Semester FPUL Ana Patrícia Teixeira Pinheiro Pinheiroappinheiro@psicologia.ulisboa.pt;
Temas de Memória 6 2º Semester FPUL Leonel Garcia-Marques garcia_marques@sapo.pt;
Tópicos Avançados de Psicologia Cognitiva 6 2º Semester FPUL Leonel Garcia-Marques garcia_marques@sapo.pt;
Bioeletricidade e eletrofisiologia 6 1º Semester FCUL Eduardo Ducla-Soares educla-soares@fc.ul.pt;;
Equipamentos médicos I: princípios e aplicações 6 1º Semester FCUL Hugo Ferreira hatdferreira@gmail.com; ;
Fundamentos de Programação 6 1º Semester FCUL António Branco Antonio.Branco@di.fc.ul.pt;
Modelação e Simulação em Medicina 6 1º Semester FCUL Raquel Conceição rcconceicao@fc.ul.pt;
Nanotecnologias em Biomedicina 3 1º Semester FCUL Hugo Ferreira hatdferreira@gmail.com;
Neurociências e Neuromodelação 6 1º Semester FCUL Alexandre Andrade aandrade@fc.ul.pt;;
Novas Tecnologias em Diagnóstico e Terapia com Radiação 3 1º Semester FCUL Nuno Matela nmatela@gmail.com;;
Tópicos Avançados de Inteligência Artificial 6 1º Semester FCUL Luís Antunes xarax@ciencias.ulisboa.pt;
Vida Artificial 3 1º Semester FCUL Paulo Urbano pjurbano@fc.ul.pt;
Engenharia de Tecidos e Órgãos Artificiais 3 1º Semester FCUL Hugo Ferreira hatdferreira@gmail.com;
Lógica de Primeira Ordem 6 1º Semester FCUL Fernando Ferreira fjferreira@fc.ul.pt;
Dosimetria e Proteção radiológica 6 2º Semester FCUL Jorge Sampaio jmsampaio@fc.ul.pt;;
Laboratório Avançado de Processsamento de Imagem e Sinal 3 2º Semester FCUL Alexandre Andrade aandrade@fc.ul.pt;
Laboratório de Inovação em Engenharia Biomédica 6 2º Semester FCUL Nuno Matela nmatela@gmail.com;
Tópicos Avançados de Tecnologia da Linguagem 6 2º Semester FCUL António Branco Antonio.Branco@di.fc.ul.pt;
Introdução às Probabilidades e Estatística 6 2º Semester FCUL TBD
Barreiras do Encéfalo no Desenvolvimento de Fármacos 4 1º Semester FFUL Alexandra Brito abrito@ff.ul.pt;
Desenvolvimento e Organização do Sistema Nervoso 4 1º Semester FFUL Rui Silva rfmsilva@ff.ul.pt;
Regulação Genética de Eucariotas e Genómica Funcional 4 1º Semester FFUL Maria João Gama mjgama@ff.ulisboa.pt;
Sinalização Celular 4 1º Semester FFUL Cecília Rodrigues cmprodrigues@ff.ul.pt;
Farmacogenética 4 2º Semester FFUL Elsa Rodrigues elsa.rodrigues@ff.ulisboa.pt;
Fisiopatologia da Neuroinflamação 4 2º Semester FFUL Dora Brites dbrites@ff.ul.pt;
Neuropatologia e Neurofarmacologia 4 2º Semester FFUL Alexandra Brito abrito@ff.ul.pt;
Oncobiologia e Biologia das Células Estaminais 4 2º Semester FFUL Cecília Rodrigues cmprodrigues@ff.ul.pt;
Fonologia 6 1º Semester FLUL Maria João Freitas joaofreitas@fl.ul.pt;
Fundamentos de Ciência Cognitiva 6 1º Semester FLUL João Branquinho jbranquinho@campus.ul.pt;
Léxico 6 1º Semester FLUL Alina Villalva alinavillalva@fl.ul.pt;
Linguística Forense 6 1º Semester FLUL Fernando Martins fmartins@letras.ulisboa.pt;
Lógica 6 1º Semester FLUL Ricardo Jorge Rodrigues dos Santos santos.ricardo@campus.ul.pt;
Metodologias de Investigação Experimental 6 1º Semester FLUL Paula Luegi e Marisa Cruz paulaluegi@fl.ul.pt;
Semântica 6 1º Semester FLUL Rui Marques rmarques@letras.ulisboa.pt
Sintaxe 6 1º Semester FLUL Anabela Gonçalves A.Goncalves@letras.ulisboa.pt;
Teoria do Conhecimento 6 1º Semester FLUL Adriana Silva Graça adrianasg@netcabo.pt;
Tópicos Avançados de Linguística e Psicolinguística 6 1º Semester FLUL Armanda Costa armandacosta@fl.ul.pt;
Fonética 6 1º Semester FLUL Fernando Martins fmartins@letras.ulisboa.pt;
Ordem de Palavras e Significação 7 1º Semester FLUL Gabriela Matos mgabrielamatos@yahoo.co.uk; gmatos@fl.ul.pt;
Pensamento Crítico 6 1º Semester FLUL Pedro Galvão pmgalvao@campus.ul.pt;
Rhetorica et Cognitio 12 1º Semester FLUL Rodrigo Furtado e Maria Clotilde Almeida rodrigo.furtado@campus.ul.pt; maria.almeida@campus.ul.pt;;
Abordagens Experimentais à Linguagem Infantil 6 2º Semester FLUL Sónia Frota sonia.frota@mail.telepac.pt;
Aquisição da Linguagem: Tópicos em Fonologia e em Sintaxe 12 2º Semester FLUL Ana Lúcia Santos e Maria João Freitas als@letras.ulisboa.pt;joaofreitas@fl.ul.pt;;
Aquisição e Desenvolvimento de Língua Materna e Não-Materna  6 2º Semester FLUL Ana Lúcia Santos als@letras.ulisboa.pt;
Estrutura Prosódica e Significação 6 2º Semester FLUL Marina Vigário mvigario@fl.ul.pt;
Léxico 6 2º Semester FLUL Alina Villalva alinavillalva@fl.ul.pt;
Linguística do Texto  6 2º Semester FLUL Rui Marques rmarques@letras.ulisboa.pt;;
Ordem de Palavras e Significação 6 2º Semester FLUL Gabriela Matos mgabrielamatos@yahoo.co.uk;
Semântica 6 2º Semester FLUL Telmo Móia tmoia@netcabo.pt;
Sintaxe 6 2º Semester FLUL Madalena Colaço mmcolaco@gmail.com;
Tópicos Avançados de Filosofia da Mente, da Linguagem e da Cognição 6 2º Semester FLUL João Branquinho jbranquinho@campus.ul.pt;
Tópicos Avançados de Linguística: Aquisição da Linguagem 12 2º Semester FLUL Ana Lúcia Santos e Maria João Freitas als@letras.ulisboa.pt; joaofreitas@fl.ul.pt;
Tópicos Avançados de Linguística: Prosódica – Ritmo e Melodia 12 2º Semester FLUL Sónia Frota sonia.frota@mail.telepac.pt;
Antropologia e Cultura TBD 2º Semester FLUL TBD
Filosofia da Linguagem TBD 2º Semester FLUL TBD
Corpo e Sociedade: Perspectivas da Antropologia 5 2º Semester ICS Cristiana Bastos e Chiara Pussetti bastoscristiana@gmail.com; chiaragemma.pussetti@gmail.com;
Seminários de Estudos Pós-Graduados em Psicologia Social 6 Every month (27 Oct- 24 May) ICS Rui Costa Lopes rui.lopes@ics.ulisboa.pt;
(*) This Curricular Unit will not be available in 2018-2019.
TBD – To be defined
Note: The PhD Students can attend to these Curricular Units available in Universidade de Lisboa, if authorized by the responsible of the Curricular Unit.

Research Seminars

Mondays (11h00-12h00) – Basic Neurosciences (Edifício Egas Moniz, Pharmacology and Neuroscience Library, floor 1B)

 

Mondays (12h30-13h30) – IMM Seminar (some in Neurosciences) (Anfº David Ferreira, Edifício Egas Moniz, floor 0)

 

Mondays (16h00-17h00) – Mind-Brain Lectures (usually at the 4th Monday of each month-place to be defined)

 

Thursdays (9h00-10h00) – Clinical Neurosciences (Neurology Service-Hospital de Santa Maria, Auditorium Almeida Lima, floor 7)

 

Thursdays (09h30-11h30) – Research Seminar (II) and Project Seminar in Cognitive Science (Faculdade de Letras, Philosophy Department, Mattos Romão Room)

 

Thursdays (10h15–11h15) – Dementia Group Meeting (Edifício Egas Moniz, Pharmacology and Neuroscience Library, floor 1B)

 

Fridays (9h15-10h15) – Language Lab Meeting (Neurosurgery- Hospital de Santa Maria, Language Lab, floor 8)